ATV Drag Racer Forums banner
1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I am new to drag racing, have been running open class MX for a couple years now, Looking to try my luck at Drag racing, 1st race is Sept. 13. I have a 2001 660 that is currently set up for mx, has a pipe, air box mod/K&N filter jetting is spot on, however the internals are stock. Also has works suspension with MX valving. Can someone please give me a good place to start with my set-up, gearing, tire sizes pressures etc. I will be racing on grass 400 feet. Thanks I really appreciate any help you can give me.

Attachments

·
Registered
1,345 Posts
QUOTE (RapKor @ Aug 25 2008, 08:59 AM) index.php?act=findpost&pid=9146I am new to drag racing, have been running open class MX for a couple years now, Looking to try my luck at Drag racing, 1st race is Sept. 13. I have a 2001 660 that is currently set up for mx, has a pipe, air box mod/K&N filter jetting is spot on, however the internals are stock. Also has works suspension with MX valving. Can someone please give me a good place to start with my set-up, gearing, tire sizes pressures etc. I will be racing on grass 400 feet. Thanks I really appreciate any help you can give me.

First off try lowering the quad some. Some people just use ty downs and strap the front end down, cheap and easy. Go down one tooth in the front and launch in second gear.

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
QUOTE (T-Rex @ Aug 25 2008, 12:43 PM) index.php?act=findpost&pid=9150First off try lowering the quad some. Some people just use ty downs and strap the front end down, cheap and easy. Go down one tooth in the front and launch in second gear.

Should I just strap the front down or should I do the rear as well? I currently have 21" tires in the front an 18.5" holeshots in the rear, should I still gear down? What is a good gear ratio to run? 400 feet grass. Thanks

·
Registered
1,345 Posts