ATV Drag Racer Forums banner

1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
Joined
·
189 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I just got a new drag 10mil. bike ( new to me) it has a stock banshee ignition set-up on it. I need to know if I am losing out with this ign. or do some of you also run stock ? if I need to invest in a new ign. what is best way to go with least amount of hassles?
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
240 Posts
QUOTE (shovelhead @ May 28 2008, 05:35 PM) index.php?act=findpost&pid=1318I just got a new drag 10mil. bike ( new to me) it has a stock banshee ignition set-up on it. I need to know if I am losing out with this ign. or do some of you also run stock ? if I need to invest in a new ign. what is best way to go with least amount of hassles?


Lots of people run the stock CDI without issue, some even prefer the stock CDI and the timing advanced at the plate vs. running a programmable dyna.

I happen to run stock CDIs on my Cubs and the Dyna on my 14 mil Cheetah due to the fact that I leave the timing alone at 0-1500 rpm (or wherever the lowest range is) and can advance it in the other rpm ranges. This keeps it from kicking back and breaking my ankle or kicker gear, case etc.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
189 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
QUOTE (J-Madd @ May 28 2008, 06:47 PM) index.php?act=findpost&pid=1319Lots of people run the stock CDI without issue, some even prefer the stock CDI and the timing advanced at the plate vs. running a programmable dyna.

I happen to run stock CDIs on my Cubs and the Dyna on my 14 mil Cheetah due to the fact that I leave the timing alone at 0-1500 rpm (or wherever the lowest range is) and can advance it in the other rpm ranges. This keeps it from kicking back and breaking my ankle or kicker gear, case etc.


Thanks j-madd. i have heard of people taking off the pvl & going to stock, but I just wanted to hear it from some of you who race a lot .
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
239 Posts
QUOTE (shovelhead @ May 28 2008, 03:54 PM) index.php?act=findpost&pid=1321Thanks j-madd. i have heard of people taking off the pvl & going to stock, but I just wanted to hear it from some of you who race a lot .
You will save yourself some headaches going back to stock ignition. The stock banshee curve works very well. The dyna on the big motors is wise, also...
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
1,003,688 Posts
good post .. i was just wondering that my self... i have heard alot of people stay with stock..
 

·
Premium Member
Joined
·
2,469 Posts
I run stock as of right now but plan on putting a dyna on my bike and doing some re-programing.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
151 Posts
QUOTE (BBIII @ May 28 2008, 04:32 PM) index.php?act=findpost&pid=1335I run stock as of right now but plan on putting a dyna on my bike and doing some re-programing.

We are in the process of tuning the Wilburn ignition on a 535 with nitrous, lot of work and cant say its worth it yet. Stock ignition has never let me down and has put many racers way out there. If your putting a new project together or getting the bugs worked out, leave it stock. Later when you think you want to get more advanced, ask yourself is it worth it.
 

·
Premium Member
Joined
·
3,418 Posts
I had a Dyna and Nology, sold the Dyna.
If you have the time, money and means to get to a dyno to program the CDI curves or have the need for NOS activation or tach, etc that the dyna offers, go for it. i.e. program a gas curve, alky curve, Nitrous curve....or a 300 ft curve, 500 foot, etc.
Otherwise, I'd stick with OEM....

They Dyna is a nice CDI, but unless you plan on taking advantage of it's features, IMO...Stock is just fine.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
152 Posts
QUOTE (dajogejr @ May 29 2008, 07:38 AM) index.php?act=findpost&pid=1386I had a Dyna and Nology, sold the Dyna.
If you have the time, money and means to get to a dyno to program the CDI curves or have the need for NOS activation or tach, etc that the dyna offers, go for it. i.e. program a gas curve, alky curve, Nitrous curve....or a 300 ft curve, 500 foot, etc.
Otherwise, I'd stick with OEM....

They Dyna is a nice CDI, but unless you plan on taking advantage of it's features, IMO...Stock is just fine.
The Dyna software and cable is like $100...............cheap [censored]>>.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
152 Posts
QUOTE (dajogejr @ May 30 2008, 03:18 AM) index.php?act=findpost&pid=1444Actually...my buddy has the cable and software. It was finding time on the dyno is what I can't seem to do.

You are depriving some village of it's idiot, please go back so they stop looking....


Did the village come by your house looking for their idiot (I made that suggestion at the last meeting of village of village idiots)? I am actually considering electing my self king of the that village.
 
1 - 14 of 14 Posts
Top