ATV Drag Racer Forums banner
1 - 16 of 16 Posts

·
Registered
489 Posts
wes I think this is right. 1 mm ='s 39 thousands....
+7 is 82 thousands.
so if all this is right and my math is right. 2mm is 78 thousands.

all this could be wrong hopefully somebody that knows will jump in.

·
Registered
240 Posts
[quote name='wesw78' date='Nov 5 2008, 08:33 PM' post='15041']
going? been lol was told 1.85mm was +7 but brad thinks its different trying to get some opinions and advice.
[/quote

mm to degree conversion is dependent on stroke and rod length. I'll edit and post the formula. Remember that +7 on a plate, and stock CDI is actually +24 at 0 - ?? rpms. Not sure if the pvl advances the timing or not. I know there is a retard curve built in. I'm new to pvls and have been researching these things.

Here is the forumula:

A= Cos^-1 (P^2+R^2-L^2)/2PR

Where A = ignition advance in degrees
R =engine stroke divided by 2 in mm
L= con-rod length (usually stroke multiplied by 2) in mm
T = iGNition timing in mm
P= R + L-T

·
Registered
97 Posts
Discussion Starter · #8 ·
english j madd english lol

if you can use that fancy math to figure out 7 degrees advance in mm please let me know. i dont know about the advancing of curve like stock cdi.

·
Registered
120 Posts
Im absolutely dying because I cant find my folder with my ignition curve info...but I did go look on the net for you.

Here's a curve from MSD- I use it because it shows the stock curve- or at least MSD's take on the stock curve which I believe to be accurate.

Then the curve from Penton Imports
The analog set-up

So the data is there for the curves....just have to read it now....and man I really hope I can find those notes....

·
Registered
240 Posts
QUOTE (Backcountry @ Nov 7 2008, 08:29 AM) index.php?act=findpost&pid=15269Im absolutely dying because I cant find my folder with my ignition curve info...but I did go look on the net for you.