ATV Drag Racer Forums banner

1 - 20 of 27 Posts

·
Registered
Joined
·
189 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I f I switch over to 530 chain do I need to do anything else other than get a new chain?
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
507 Posts
530 sprockets, there really isnt any need to make the change. you can get pretty much any tensile stregth chain and sprocket in 520
 

·
Premium Member
Joined
·
500 Posts
The reason I switched from 520 to 530 is I was braking the 520 front sprockets. All you have to have is the chain and front sprocket. Although not ideal, you can get by with the 520 rear sprocket. Im still using the 520 rear with the 530 chain and it seems to be working fine.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
507 Posts
it doesnt really make any sense that you broke front thta are 520 and not 530? there are street bikes that pump out BIG numbers and dont have any issues with 520??? Do you know what is differant about the 530 that your are holding up now?
 

·
Premium Member
Joined
·
500 Posts
I dont. All I know is I havnt had any problems since. I know a few other guys have had the same problem with the 520 sprockets, and when they switched to the 530, they had no more problems. My motor is making alot more power and torque than it did last year when I ran the 520. Maybe it has something to do with the tweek of the motor in frame when its under full power. I dont know, all I know is I havent broke any sprockets with the 530 set up.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
1,030 Posts
Are the 530 sprockets the same width exactly as teh 520's you were using? Alignment would have the most to do with breaking a part in the chain/sprocket area.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
507 Posts
QUOTE (BBIII @ Jul 15 2008, 07:25 AM) index.php?act=findpost&pid=5346The 530 sprockets are bigger than the 520s
the spacing and depth is bigger then the 520 but i am talking about the actual construction of it. the differance of width and depth dosent seem to be enough to keep them from breaking.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
1,227 Posts
ya Im not sure why the switch to 530 would be necessary either,all street bike guys I know do the 530-520 conversion on their bikes. you can get 520 tinsill strength to definatly cover what you need 8200 is good,
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
507 Posts
QUOTE (phatboyz @ Jul 15 2008, 09:23 AM) index.php?act=findpost&pid=5363ya Im not sure why the switch to 530 would be necessary either,all street bike guys I know do the 530-520 conversion on their bikes. you can get 520 tinsill strength to definatly cover what you need 8200 is good,
yea there are alot of 1/4mile drag bikes that run BIG numbers and run 520 chains. We were looking up some chains a few night ago and they went to like 30,000 lbs tensile strength
 
G

·
QUOTE (bansh-eman @ Jul 15 2008, 11:38 AM) index.php?act=findpost&pid=5365yea there are alot of 1/4mile drag bikes that run BIG numbers and run 520 chains. We were looking up some chains a few night ago and they went to like 30,000 lbs tensile strength
Where did you get the 30,000 tensile from??

I use the EK DRZ530 chain with 11,500 tensile. Good up to 300hp on asphalt.
Never had a problem with it.

http://www.ekchain.com/drag.htm
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
507 Posts
oh sorry that was a 630 chain.
 

·
Premium Member
Joined
·
500 Posts
QUOTE (Planet Asphalt @ Jul 15 2008, 12:29 PM) index.php?act=findpost&pid=5379Where did you get the 30,000 tensile from??

I use the EK DRZ530 chain with 11,500 tensile. Good up to 300hp on asphalt.
Never had a problem with it.

http://www.ekchain.com/drag.htm

Thats the same one I use. I used to have a high tinsle strenth 520 (not 30,000 though) and it would stretch every time I made a pass. It never broke but it stretched a ton. With this EK 530, it hasnt stretched once.


The 530 sprocket it beefier than the 520. I know some street bikes use 520, but if you figure weight, and paddles and turning two tires that are spread out as opposed to one tire with the rear sprocket right up against it. Again, I dont know. I dont have any good answers just guesstaments LOL. All I know is I havnt had any trouble since I switched.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
507 Posts
i am going to have to keep that in mind, i know that chain i was running stretched quite abit too.

if i am not mistaken the 530 chains/sprokets are more expensive and dont have as many options right?
 

·
Premium Member
Joined
·
500 Posts
I wanna say the chain was $140.00ish. I bought it from schnitzracing.com. As far as options, Im sure what you mean. Mine came with an extra connecting link and you can get 530s in o-ring, x-ring, and non o-ring.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
507 Posts
QUOTE (Goodsound @ Jul 15 2008, 10:59 AM) index.php?act=findpost&pid=5391I wanna say the chain was $140.00ish. I bought it from schnitzracing.com. As far as options, Im sure what you mean. Mine came with an extra connecting link and you can get 530s in o-ring, x-ring, and non o-ring.
i ment sprocket options
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
49 Posts
QUOTE (phatboyz @ Jul 15 2008, 12:23 PM) index.php?act=findpost&pid=5363ya Im not sure why the switch to 530 would be necessary either,all street bike guys I know do the 530-520 conversion on their bikes. you can get 520 tinsill strength to definatly cover what you need 8200 is good,
I think alot of the problem is the poor quality of sprockets that are available for the banshee.
 
1 - 20 of 27 Posts
Top